Chinese-Forums

Learning Chinese(Traditional) Flashcards

truant

Thanks so much for the donation - much appreciated. As you can see I have put a fair bit of time into them so it is nice the hear positive reports.

Regarding the pinyin being "Putonghua (PRC) or for Guoyu (Taiwan)" well, I am not an expert in pinyin to be honest and the pinyin is based on what is in the book. You will notice that some cards have 2 versions of the pinyin (from the book), which my teacher told me is for mainland pronunciation. An example of this is card #25 in Chapter 1 or Book 1.

I would love to create a simplified version, but the job would be made infinitely easier if i could get a hold of an excel table with a comparison between traditional and simplified characters. I am sure something like that exists out there. The other option is to track down a similar font but simplified.

Glad you enjoy the cards! Please spread the word and create links to the download page if you can...

Truant

http://www.truant.net/flashcards

Update:

I have tracked down some conversion tools, so I will have a closer look at that and keep you posted regarding the simplified version.

However, the question then remains: would you want the cards to be grouped according to the Practical Audio Visual books?.....or would "by frequency" or similar be better?

Appreciate your input.

Truant

http://www.truant.net/flashcards

I've only looked at a couple of the cards. Really nice design.

Can't you just put both Simplified and Traditional on the same card? That way someone could also (possibly) test themselves that way too.

Second, what did you use to design the cards? Anything automated?

I have tracked down some conversion tools, so I will have a closer look at that and keep you posted regarding the simplified version.