Chinese-Forums

This year is going to be the year I speak Chinese

novemberfog

I work full-time and do not have a lot of free time to study everyday. It is hard to fit overtime work (I need the money), exercise, and study into the daily schedule. But this year I have decided will be the year I speak Chinese.

I am not a beginner but not advanced either. I work with upper-intermediate level texts for reading and writing, but I can't speak Chinese! I know the words and grammar, and when I visited Taiwan I could speak enough to get around in the countryside. But...I can't speak. When I try to make sentences, Chinese look at me and I can tell they cannot understand. And...I think it is because I am not good with tones. I am told my pronunciation is clear, but the tones are almost always mixed up. I know part of this is that I get nervous when I speak Chinese.

So I want to improve my tones so that I can be understand. I need ideas. I have read threads and seen what people do. I have tried radio and really it is just too advanced for me. Due to the difficulty, I find it hard to regularly listen to the broadcasts. Also...somedays I can't steam the audio from CRI. Too many listeners I guess, or too much lag.

So what can I do to get a good foudation, yet not require three hours of listening daily? So far, I have this planned:

I walk 4 km one-way to get to work, so I bought a little iPod and hope to get the Pimsleur Mandarin. My father used the German series when he was younger and said it really helped. Some exercise and some study knocked out with "one stone" there.

I have found a conversation partner (a native, professional Chinese instructor) who is willing to help in exchange for English lessons. But due to work we cannot meet so often. I am guessing at most twice a month.