Chinese-Forums

learning cantonese or mandarin?

Fluxy

Hello all. I am new to this board, and this is my first post. My name is Manuel and I am 2nd generation chinese. My dad is creole and my mom is cantonese so yea i know that is a very crazy mix lol. If you want to see what i look like please feel free to see my myspace profile. The reason i signed up on this forum is to ask a very hard question. I am really dissapointed i did not begin to learn chinese when i was younger, as i want to start learning now :-? outside of hello, happy new year and do you want some milk, yes and no i cannot cant say anything else in chinese. Currently i am only fluent in english but i can get by in spanish also. I know this language would be one of the hardest to learn but i am a very good student and with my determination im sure i can start to pick up the language after some time. I have this nack for pronouncing foreign words almost as if it was my native language like when i was reading french or spanish in school. Now here is the big question i have. I have been doing some research and i cant seem to make up my mind. Each dialect has their own strengths and weaknesses to me, for instance, If i decided to learn cantonese i could practice with family members on pronunciation and overall practice of that sort, Deep down i want to learn cantonese because it is my heritage, but ive been hearing alot about how Mandarin is the more predominant dialect in chinese language and if i would just be wasting my time with cantonese. Basically, i am trying to learn this language to expand my knowledge of different cultures, mainly chinese. I am not too worried about reading and writing chinese characters, even though im not going to be able to avoid it i think speaking and understanding it is the main thing im after. Eventually i would like to spend alot of time in China, most likely Hong Kong and maybe some other cities you can suggest? Maybe to study? Down the road i would like to meet a woma