Chinese-Forums

Studying for one semester : Intensive or not

adrianlondon

I want to study for one semester - September to December.

I had decided I want to study at BNU but now I'm thinking that 4 months' study isn't really going to be a great deal. I'm not a beginner and have, in the past, studied for two years (but only for an hour a week, and in the UK, so progress was painfully slow).

I'm now thinking that, as I don't want to study more than 4 months, the way forward might be to do something more intensive. BNU don't do intensive courses but BLCU do.

Has anyone done the intensive course? Is it much "faster" than the normal course and does it still leave you enough time to enjoy yourself (eat, sleep, drink, sex - usual stuff)?

Personally, unless you're a power learner, I wouldn't do the intensive. I know someone who did 20 hour a week at another school and by mid second semester she had given up on remembering characters/words by writing. So she focused on being able to read and she is young and a very serious studier.

While I haven't done it yet, I'm going to stick to 20 hours which will leave time for studying and enjoying life in China.

Cheers for that. I know it isn't strictly necessary (and is the subject of at least one contentious thread on here as it is) but I do want to learn to write the characters as well as read,listen and speak the langage. No short cuts for me. I'm learning for fun rather than to pass exams or out of necessity.

adrianlondon, I took an intensive (20 hrs/wk) course at BLCU that lasted one month this summer. The classes were 8 am to 12 noon, so although it seemed the class would never end, once it got out I could have lunch and then have the whole rest of the day to do whatever - touring Beijing, meeting with friends, or just relaxing. And there is plenty of time to go to clubs and stuff, as you have the whole weekend.

Yes, normal is considered 20 hours a week and intensive is considered 30 hours a week.