Chinese-Forums

中文学习网站 Website for Learning Chinese?

Guest smile

Hello guys

I am a Chinese teacher and my job is teaching English for the IELTS test. Since my workmates are foreigners(they do not know Chinese),I teach them Chinese quite often. And that is the reason I came here.

I've read lots of your articles here, and I know that many of you have made excellent progress in learning Chinese. This impressed me deeply and, I am thinking of creating a website of learning Chinese as a second language, just for people from non-Chinese speaking countries.

Since I'm not very skillful in making webpages etc, you could imangine it would not be an easy task for me to establish such a professional website. And that's the reason for my unsure about this idea. So I just post it frankly here.

Your suggestions are welcome!

Probably the first thing to do would be to look at some other sites - try a Learning Chinese Search to find some ideas.

If you really don't know anything about making webpages, you'll need to learn that too. A very very basic one to start with is Weballey.net but you'll also need other sites like Webmonkey.com and W3 Schools. These are the sites I used when I was making my first site. To be honest, if I was starting again I'd probably use something like Moveable Type or PHPNuke

If you really want to do it, and have the time to invest, you could do it. My advice would be to start playing with webdesign - look at the sites above and see what you can do - but also spend time on sites like this one helping Chinese learners - that will help you see what content you need on the site.

Roddy

roddy, thanks a lot for your warm suggestion.