Chinese-Forums

Variants in Traditional Chinese characters?

Mark Yong

I have been typing in Chinese for a few months using MS Windows XP (Traditional Chinese, using the Taiwan setting). I have been using the PMingLiu font regularly.

Recently, I decided to try out the SimSun font, also in Traditional Chinese. I notice that some of the characters appear differently. The examples I came up with are as follows:

給/給, 為/為, 曾/曾

(In case the difference do not show up here, copy and paste the word pairs into MSWord, and set the font for one word to PMingLiu and the other word to SimSun.)

Note again that both words in the pairings are Traditional Chinese, not Simplified Chinese.

For 給, I am aware that one form is the version that is used for printing (the PMingLiu version), and the other is the form used for writing (the SimSun version). This applies in general for all words using the radical 糸.

However, I am not so sure about 為 and 曾. For 曾, in the PMingLiu font, the top of the character is 八, whereas in the SimSun font, the top of the character is 丷. Note that in these two variants, the number of strokes remains the same (I personally find it easier tow write using the 丷 top, as I can never get the 八 well-proportioned!).

In the special case of 為, in the PMingLiu font, the top of the character is 爪, whereas in the SimSun font, it is techinically reduced to just 、, with the 丿 stroke merged with the rest of the character. In this instance, there is a difference of 3 stroke counts (the PMingLiu version has 12; the SimSun version has 9). Also, under the Kangxi radical classification, 為 falls under the爪 radical, which would not be obvious in the SimSun version.

Any comments? Are there two or more commonly-accepted standards for writing certain Traditional Chinese characters (perhaps differences between Taiwan, Hong Kong and old-China fonts)? Or are they just differences between the printed form (宋書) and the pattern form (隸書)?