Chinese-Forums

How much do you study?

leosmith

As someone who is preparing to study Chinese, I'm very curious about how much you guys study per day, or per week if that makes more sense in your case. And if you'd like, please include a brief summary of how you spend that time - we'd love to hear it.:)

I work full-time, so I study during lunch break, and listen to recordings on the 4km walk to the office, and on the way home. When I get home, I normally study for an hour, if I don't get home too late. I wish I had more time in a day!

I'm a college student in my first year of the language. I generally do approximately one hour of chinese a day out of class. I find that is enough to remember the new characters and the new grammar rules each week. My teacher is also fairly good, she goes at a slightly slower pace than I would prefer (about 25 words each week), but she makes sure we all learn every single character, and grammar rule. This way we don't forget what we learned last week, or last semester.

I am a fulltime student (1st year in both a BA in Chinese and a Masters in International Security) and a fulltime house husband, and apart from university classes I would study about 3-5 hours a day... 2 or so hours language and the rest in reading and essays for the masters... I echo Novemberfog's sentiments and wish for more hours in the day... about 8 would be good...

I am a fulltime student [...] and a fulltime house husband

How many fulltimes can one have? :mrgreen: