Chinese-Forums

Apartment in Kunming Wanted

cilly999

Hi everybody! I'm an Italian student and i will be staying in Kunming for about a month to study Mandarin. Does anybody have a free room to rent in their apartment? Do you know if there's a particular place in Kunming where people post their announcement? Grazie..

Hey! Lots of foreigners post advertisements for this kind of thing in the Wicker Basket restaurants. One of them is in Bei Chen Xiao Qu 北辰小区 and the other is in Chun Yuan Xiao Qu 春苑小区 Then there are also lots of restaurants and bars frequented by foreigners near Yunnan University on Wen Lin Jie 文林街 and Wen Hua Xiang 文化巷. You're sure to meet some foreigners around there.

Did you try checking out the guesthouse at Yunnan University? They rent by the day ( a little expensive). For one month it would be great for your Chinese if you could stay with a Chinese family, but I don't know how you would go abt setting that up. Hopefully someone on this forum will be able to give you some better advice or even have sth. available.

• 6 months later...
  • 2 weeks later...

Jeff,

YNU offers two choices as far as on-campus housing options: the foreign students dormitory and the foreign students hotel. The dormitory is 4ppl to a room and runs around 30RMB/night. The hotel is 1 person to a room (although there are two twin beds) for 80RMB/night. The hotel is ok, but I wouldn't want to stay there longer than a few weeks. Hot water only at nights for a couple hours starting at 8PM. It's pretty much a good place to start off with until you get your feet weet and find another apartment. I ended up spending a little over two weeks there--it took me a little longer to find an apartment since I'm planning on staying in Kunming for only 3 months.