Chinese-Forums

"Ago"

xuechengfeng

I realize I should probably know this studying this language for a couple years now, but I forget. . .

How would I say something like "I studied Chinese three years ago (but I no longer do)."

Do you just use the time frame + 以前? I only recall using 以前 as the word "before," which might not necessarily be on par with "ago." Is there a better word for "ago?"

can't find quote button:wall , but still wanna discuss "Using English, can you explain how that differs from using 了instead of 过?" with #4

Let's have a look at these two sentences:

1. 小明读了《三国演义》。

2. 小明读过《三国演义》。

The first one can be translated like: "Xiao Ming has read 'San Guo'";

while the second one can be : "Xiao Ming read 'San Guo'".

Well... I've also got a little confusion:shock: ... anyone helps us?!

For some reason I get the feeling 了 means you did it, while 过 means you've done it before. It gives a different feeling of time. 了 is more close to the present than 过. This is just my personal feeling though. Not sure if it's completely correct. Any back up? :)

I, being a learner who is using Practical Chinese Reader that describes it as such, take "guo" to mean a "whole experience".

So, if you had learnt chinese but weren't planning on learning any more, then use "guo". In other words "I learnt Chinese three years ago (and that's it; I'm not going to bother with it any more)"

Whereas using "le" just means that you studied chinese three years ago. So, to translate the opening post I'd use "le" as the person is going to continue learning Chinese at some point in the future.

Wow, it made sense in my head but it's hard to express in words :)

You use 过 in saying you've gone to China three years ago. You use 了 to mean you went to China three years ago (and are still there). This has a different meaning using 过 and 了 to say you studied Chinese three years ago. It sounds to me like a time issue. I wouldn't use 了 in this case, and instead use 过 as suggested.