Chinese-Forums

Good colleges & universities in the US for studying Chinese

xiaojiang216

大家好,

I'm starting to think about colleges and about where to go... that old chestnut... I searched the forums for a while, but didn't find anything similar to my topic...

Anyway... There is no doubt in my mind that I want to continue studying Chinese in college, because I really want to incorporate it into a career.

By the time I'm in college, I might be third or fourth year level, according to my teacher. How many levels are there? I don't really know much about all of the schools out there, but I have been looking at Middlebury.

Does anyone know of any more schools that have good Chinese programs, or even perhaps their own study abroad programs?

Thank you all very much for your time! :mrgreen:

葛亞輝(美國人)

I'm a student at Brown, and I think our program is pretty good...I mean, I've never been anywhere else, but a couple of our teachers work at the Middlebury summer program sometimes, they're all native speakers, and we always seem to be ahead of the people who transfer in from other schools.

classes offered (all 1 year long):

beginning mandarin chinese

intermediate mandarin chinese

advanced modern chinese I

advanced modern chinese II

if you get through all that, there's also classical chinese, chinese literature (in chinese although we probably have a chinese lit class in english too), and "special topics in chinese" which is probably just independent study with some of the teachers once you've done everything else.

Middlebury has good Chinese program. My school, Oberlin College, also has a good Chinese language program. I think there are many decent schools in the US in the area of Chinese Studies-- both big universities(yale, michigan, indiana) and small liberal colleges(dartmouth, middlebury). You should go to their school website to look at their Chinese/East Asian Studies department for more information and what they offer. Check out these: