Chinese-Forums

Why not annotate full article?

Jonny Wang

I'm new to reading newsinchinese.com and had a quick question. Why, in most cases, is just the intro to an article annotated rather than the whole thing? I like the website, but seems it would be even better if the whole articles (which don't tend to be very long) were annotated. :roll:

--JW

I did, and mostly I get a page with a picture of a girl waterskiing. Eventually though, I realized there was a link *below* that picture in *tiny* print telling me the full article was ready for viewing. So, my bad! I now understand how to get the whole article.

But, why the heck no put this link *above* the waterskiing girl, so it'll definitely be visible in everyone's browser without having to scroll down? Seems more logical to me. Or get rid of the extra link altogether?

Just a thought.

Yes, that's what happened to me too when I clicked 'More'. I did click the link, still I cannot get the whole article. I've been tried several time, and eventually gave upon it.

:cry:

Hmmm... never knew that people had this problem, although I guess having a HUGE photo and microscopic link telling people their article is ready is a bit of a bad call usability-wise. The reason we have the interstitial page is basically to help fill the time while the software grabs the remote page and annotates it.

The system works by grabbing and annotating the Xinhua RSS feed... which is why only a snippet is annotated to start. When someone requests annotating the full article, the software attempts to do a screen-scrape of the article on the Xinhua server. Most of the time this works. Sometimes either (1) Xinhua has moved the article, or (2) the article is in some funky format, and so the scripts don't work as expected. This is usually what happens when errors get reported....