Chinese-Forums

Help me choose a Chinese study topic

Daniel Primed

Hello friends,

I am a year 12 student learning Chinese for the second time around(as I started it a year early). We have to do a large assignment which consists of a 5 minute oral presentation, a english written piece and a Chinese written piece. Since I'm doing it again I get to choose my own topic.

So I need some ideas on what I should do. Nothing too complex(ie political) but nothing too simple that relates to China. I was thinking of doing mine on Chinese design(more modern than traditional) as it intrests me. I want to do something modern about Chinese culture. Something that is rather stylistic. So what can you suggest? and what about information, where can I get it and how hard is it to find?

Thanking in advance,

-Daniel

Hmm... if I remember correctly, you're Australian and this is a pretty major part of your assessment, right? It's called the In-Depth Study and the topic you choose will be the focus of your final (external) oral exam? I remember having to do something similar for French.

I don't have any particular topics to suggest; however, the examiners do tend to like topics which allow comparison between Chinese and Western culture, or traditional Chinese culture and modern Chinese culture. I'd also suggest staying away from topics which have a lot of subject-specific jargon and technical terms, unless you can limit the scope of your study to reduce the need for them or get around them with explanations in simpler Chinese.