Chinese-Forums

Learning Basic Cantonese from Mandarin

tlevine

My mom's from Shanghai, but grew up in Hong Kong, so she can speak Shanghainese, Cantonese, Mandarin and English.

I live in the US, so I speak English, and I've been studying Mandarin for about two years. When I began studying Mandarin, she started talking to me in Mandarin, and I realized then that her accent was weird. After studying in Beijing for a month, I absolutely hate her accent.

So, I want her to speak to me in Cantonese so I can learn Cantonese. I think something like a Cantonese-Mandarin vocabulary list about 500 words long (preferably in an audio recording rather than a book) and some information about the differences in grammar would be enough that I could sort of understand her. Does anyone know of anything like this?

• 1 month later...

Agree that the southern accent is really annoying, especially when they inform you that you are pronouncing words wrong and that the "sh" sound does not exist. Some of my relatives' southern accents are so extreme that they pronounce all z's as j's("jaijian!"). I'm pretty Beijingofascist when it comes to Chinese.

Some of my relatives' southern accents are so extreme that they pronounce all z's as j's("jaijian!"). I'm pretty Beijingofascist when it comes to Chinese.

I am also somewhat Beijing-centric when it comes to pronunciation.