Chinese-Forums

Can you recommend me a good self-taught program to follow?

Patrick_ChineseForum

Hi guys,

I just started learning Chinese about a week ago. So far I've studied pinyin and some simple words (as people here suggested). Now I think I should have a structured study program to guide me about what I should study/accomplish during the first month, second month, and so on. I did the search on this forum and the closest result was "Self-teaching vs. Classes - The Great Debate" thread. After reading the thread, I enrolled in the Chinese language for beginner class in a community college. The class will start in a few weeks. It'll only take place once a week. Honestly I would like to spend more than a day a week studying Chinese (I think I can do about an hour a day self study). Many people here suggested many good study resources. However I didn't know in what order should I study them. I did some googling and found some self study programs. However they seemed to be commercially driven (for profit per say). Hence I was not sure if I could trust their claims. I would like to hear from people here. What self study programs have you used? Which one worked best for you?

My goal is to be able handle simple conversation and read Chinese websites. Don't know how long that will take, but I believe a good start is to have the road map (study program) to follow. Please advice.

Thank you,

Patrick

Agree with the advice above, have a bit more for you.

Whatever you do, try to incorporate writing (hand writing) into your regimen. Writing out the characters has at least 2 benefits. 1) It will help you to recognize patterns within the characters. 2) Perhaps more importantly it will help you to organize your thoughts. This is especially helpful if you don't have many opportunities to speak the language. Also, when you do have the chance you will be better at it.