Chinese-Forums

Low Cash- Job Options

muyongshi

Well just what the title says...my money is starting to run dry big time and so now I am considering options to help offset some of my costs (one being moving to a cheaper place which since no furniture the initial cost is the same but long run is cheaper). I am studying full time (20 hours a week) and savings only has about 1-2 semesters left but at the rate which cost of living is going up it will be down to only 1 in no time. So now I am wondering about some sort of side job that could help earn a little extra cash. I do not really want to teach/tutor or do anything that has to do with teaching English.

I know, what else is there right? Well that is one thing I am trying to find out....Does anyone have any ideas or things they have done? And how did you go about doing it?

One thing that I've thought about was becoming a music tutor...

One thing that I've thought about was becoming a music tutor...

It will be great to be a music tutor, if you can play piano or violin very well (with a high grade certificate is better.) You can go directly to musical instrument shops to try your luck.

I also wonder whether you can get some online part time jobs from your home country, which could be better paid than those in China, for example online translation, web design, web master, etc.

Good luck!

Cheers!

Assuming you don't really look like Snoopy, you might try modeling - that's something were being foreign ensures a high mark-up (which is true for teaching English as well, but that you eliminated already).

For teaching music, you'd be competing directly with Chinese - which means low wages.

Well the problem is that I'm not sure what I can do as you so put it. My skill sets are more in the area of general business/management/sales and those type of things. Which I don't think I would work out as a great salesman here. 1.3 billion people who have better Chinese than mine....