Chinese-Forums

chinese man going to china for the first time

jimmyk

i was born in the philippines. knows very little chinese although i am a chinese citizen by birth. i want to settle in mainland china so that my 3 children can take advantage of the economic boom there. my eldest is 3rd year b.s. geography in the university of the phil.diliman campus quezon city. my next child is 1st year b.s.computer science in the university of the phil. in mindanao my youngest and only son is 1st year high school. both of my college children are scholars. i am a college graduate at feati university . went into business but went bunkrupt twice. first in jukebox the 2nd in arcade video games. the swift advancement in electronics easily relegated my units as museum pieces. will somebody please give me some tips and insight on how to go about getting a decent job and settle there for good. i am now 51 years old. thank you in advance for your help.

Well, if you are a citizen, they will certainly let you in, but as for finding a job if you can't speak Chinese: you may be restricted to teaching English. I know there are Filipinos teaching English in China. Also: be prepared for some surprise that you are Chinese but can't speak Chinese...

Maybe you can enrol on a language course somewhere and then think about opening a restaurant or something like that.

to josh2007..............I know a lot of filipinos teaching english in china with zero knowledge of the chinese language. what i am planning is to set up some business there concerning food supply. They got over i billion mouths to feed. poultry raising specifically. I don't want to be involve in any high tech lines for the time being. I got burned twice in that field you know. can you give me some tips about being an english teacher in china?

thanks so much for taking the time to respond.