Chinese-Forums

Getting back in the saddle

Zhoule

I am currently working in China (although in an almost 100% English speaking environment working with our US office preparing to open an office here in the next few months and continuing my US based work remotely in the interim). I speak a passable amount of Chinese and can read a little bit. My wife is also ethnically Chinese and is fluent, so I am not usually forced into using Chinese to handle many of the daily living issues as I did back when I was a student in China.

Of course my Chinese is still improving daily just by living here, buying groceries (read: beer:lol:) but I am becomming a little impatient with the slow progress and have decided to get "back on the saddle" per se in actively trying to improve my Chinese. As my hectic schedule tends to preclude me from taking any organized courses, I am looking for another approach to study.

Is anyone else in a similar situation, or have any tips as the best (i.e. most efficient) way to approach this?

I am thinking of just getting some text books and starting at page 1, quickly moving through until I hit the level where I am not too comfortable with the material. and getting more in depth with my study at that point.

I also want to find a way to improve my pronunciation (tones) as I don't have much problem understanding others, but when speaking my tones seemed to have gotten lost somewhere in the past few years that I've been out of China.

Any suggestions for study methods or recommendations for materials would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

I would do exactly what you suggest -- fast track it through a good textbook until you find your level, and other than that, it's exactly the same as with any other self-studying person, and there are many threads on that (EDIT: like this one)

As for the tones, talk to a native speaker and have them ruthlessly correct every tone mistake you make by repeating what you said.