Chinese-Forums

Skype in Chinese - beginner?

Jikolp

Hi!

I was wondering whether even as a beginner I should look for somebody to talk on Skype in Chinese. I´d love to, actually, but I fear that I would sound too ´Zulu-Chinese´ to that native speaker and that I would make him/her angry or something, which is something I really don´t want to.

What do you think? Should I try?

You're unlikely to make anyone angry. Generally Chinese people are amazed if anyone makes even a tiny effort to learn their language, so you'll probably get a sympathetic reception - you are more likely to have trouble with people being too complimentary rather than being realistic about your mistakes.

Give it a shot, let us know how you get on.

I started skype only after 2 or 3 months of studying. My Chinese was not good but I had many conversations for more than 20 minutes.

Most of them are students who want to practice their oral English. That means that they know what you are going through in learning a new language and you'll be surprised to see how many interesting subjects come up during the conversation even as a beginner. My English is not good and I didn't have the privilege of language exchange, but even so, they responded very friendly and helped me a lot. :mrgreen: Maybe you shouldn't tell them that you speak English! It will be all in Chinese.

edit: After a few chats you'll find out that there is a very basic formula for starting a conversation with them. Usually after a ni hao they tell you how good your Chinese is. Then you can start a conversation about where and how you study Chinese and ask them similar questions. I can extend this conversation to 10 minutes. It only needs a few sentences from the kouyu book. I think that all the Chinese are very predictable at the beginning of a conversation, so you won't have any problems.

Maybe you shouldn't tell them that you speak English! It will be all in Chinese.