Chinese-Forums

Tones when Counting

jhargett

I have a friend who says two different native Chinese people told him that when you are counting in Chinese, you don't use the correct tones for the numbers, but rather say everything in the 2nd tone. I have been studying Chinese for about 8 years and I have never heard this. Anybody else heard this?

一片光明 - first or second tone

Quite so, but there the character following the number is not the next number up, so this is not a case of "when you are counting", which is what the original question was about.

Same thing with 四是四十是十十四是十四。。。

"When you are counting": 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,...

I think I have read elsewhere, and observed in practice (though my experience is very limited) that in some relaxed situations the Chinese will not make such a big distinction between tones as they would in formal speech. One text even claimed you can catch them speaking "almost without tones" in some cases.

So what about that situation when you are counting things and quietly whisper (or mumble) the numbers to yourself as you go along. Would they always make a clear distinction between the tones there?

Edited by lokki

Think of the morning excercise counting: yi, er, san, si, er, er, san, si etc. All proper tones there. Some people might count in all second tones, but I don't recall ever hearing it.

As was pointed out, I was not asking about tone sandhi, but rather using all second tones. Lokki and Lu, I was thinking along the same lines as you. I can see how when exercising and counting the repetitions that you wouldn't be so strict about tones. In that case though, I would think it would be more of an absence of tones than using all second tones.

As far as Chinese people sometimes speaking "almost without tones", I definitely agree with this. I don't think anyone uses all the correct tones all the time (except for that guy announcing at the Olympic Opening Ceremony, man, that guy had perfect Pǔtōnghuà.)