Chinese-Forums

Where to start?

miataka

Hi guys,

I'm sure you have all seen this question several times and I would first like to apologise for asking if it at all offends/annoys certain people.

A bit about myself. Basically, I'm what you would call a BBC (British Born Chinese) and have lived in Britain all of my life. I am thinking of going to China sometime next year but I know zero Mandarin/Cantonese etc. So I'm just wondering if anyone in this community can point me in the right direction as to where I should begin.

I have searched for tutors in the UK and the only ones I have found are either University courses or are not local to where I currently live. So my options are pretty limited... It looks like I'm going to have to teach myself for the time being, so any book recommendations, tapes, dvd's, anything, would be really appreciated.

I look forward to hearing from you guys :)

Many thanks!

Since you're a total beginner, I'd strongly advise against learning it all by yourself. You're bound to form bad habits, be it in terms of pronunciation, writing or whatever, which are very hard to change later on. IMO you'd better wait until you find someone who can teach you - once you've mastered the basics (takes 1-2 years, depending), you can go ahead and teach yourself, but that still won't be yield the same results as having a real teacher. Anyway, that's just what I think. Good luck!

I think you can teach yourself, although you will need help with pronunciation if you don't have the basics. I also recommend the Basic Chinese: A Grammar and Workbook by Yip-Po Ching and Don Rimmington, that yersi mentioned. If your objective is to actually become competent in Chinese rather than know just enough to get by, then I'd definitely start from a solid grammar book rather than a lot of the, in my opinion, useless phrase books that you can find in most UK bookshops.

Thanks guys :)