Chinese-Forums

Chinese Learning strategies

songlei

Hello everyone,

I’ve been browsing around on this forum regularly for the last three months or so but never got around to posting anything yet. So this is my first one, and I’d like to raise a topic that I’m sure a lot of you are concerned with. But let me introduce myself first. I’ve been studying Chinese at a university for two academic years now, and I have been putting insane amounts of extra time in gathering material on my own and cramming it with my SRS (Anki). You could say I guess that I am at an upper-intermediate level now, which, according to my own personal definition means I can have a decent conversation with a Chinese person without too much interruptions to ask what it is their saying, and I am able to understand, with a dictionary that is (I recommend NCIKU and MDBG), almost everything that there is to read. My vocabulary is still limited, I’d say 5,000 words or so (I can only write some 1,500 characters though), so there are some massive gaps in my knowledge still, but I can also surprise people by talking about Russian roulette and the Dynastic cycle of Chinese history-writing. Anyway, let’s cut to the chase.

I always expected I would be fluent in Chinese within two years. It’s now beginning to dawn on me that that’s not going to happen. However, I am still in denial about this, and therefore I’ve been putting waaay too much time in studying Chinese alienating my loved ones etc. in order to meet my initial expectations. Time to start thinking of a learning strategy right? Well I’ve been doing that a lot recently, and I’d like to share with you the things I’ve come up with. I hope you will all do the same thing so we can all benefit from it and get another few steps closer to attaining 100% efficiency in our Chinese learning endeavors.