Chinese-Forums

Review on Witopia and other "Anti-Wall" apps

zozzen

I've heard about Witopia in this forums and the company seems to know we're their potential target and start placing an ad here.

I'm wondering how many people here use it?

can anyone compare the performance between witopia and other free alternatives like ultrasurf and freegate? Is it worth paying US$59,9?

http://www.personalvpn.com/index.php?mktsrc=cfwitopia

Edited by zozzen
to make the post more useful

I've been using it for abt 8 months now and absolutely love it. It's a heck of a lot faster than some free stuff I've used such as gladder and anonymouse and Tor. have never tried ultrasurf or freegate so don't know abt that. For me the money is worth it - I got it for $40 but for me it would be well worth renewing at the higher $60 price.

Not sure exactly where you're seeing the ad, but it's possibly me placing the affiliate link we have rather than Witopia themselves. I've also edited it into your post, Zozzen, hope you don't mind :).

There's some mention of Witopia's products here, later on in the topic. I won't merge this though as I think Witopia and possibly the other paid VPN options deserve a seperate topic.

I've been paying for Witopia for the best part of two years, and use it pretty much daily - wouldn't be without it. Easy to install, connects quickly, and once you're connected everything pretty much works. Online video (Youtube basically) is a bit slow, but I don't think it's much worse than it was without the VPN when not blocked. MSN sometimes drops the connection, but logs immediately back in. Rarely, the connection to the VPN itself will drop and have to be restarted.

As for the free alternatives, tried it once. Can't remember how successful it was, but ended up paying for a VPN. Even at $60 a year, Witopia is only just over one yuan a day - the cost hardly even registers.