Chinese-Forums

Questions about Life in China

Rysiek

Hi all,

I am an American student and am going to study in Beijing for a year starting this coming Fall. I've never been to China, so have no idea what to expect. I would very much appreciate some information from people living there.

1) My wife is fat, at about 5'6" and weighing 350 pounds or so. Should she expect harassment in China? I understand there is going to be stigma associated with it, likely more than in the United States, but that's unavoidable nowadays. However, what I'm concerned about is how likely are things to be simply too small? Things like chairs in restaurants, offices, busses, etc.? Bathroom stalls, shower cabins, etc.? I'm sure buying clothing is going to be even more of a pain than in the US, but thankfully there are websites cropping up now that don't charge arm and a leg for "plus sizes."

1a) What of getting around the city? I.e. does one have to walk everywhere, or is public transportation decent? Even if it is decent, are bus stops far in between? Are there places to sit down and rest on the streets? Are multi-storied buildings likely to have working elevators?

2) I hear big scary stories about water being unsanitary, which extends to food made with such water (or would it all be boiled in the process of making food?). I can live with boiling water; I had to do that here not too long ago when e. coli was found in the reservoir, but I am concerned about eating at restaurants that might not do that. Are there health regulations that apply to restaurants? Are they enforced? Is this all a big scare that somehow only affect sensitive American stomachs?