Chinese-Forums

How far will these credentials get me?

nye307

For a variety of reasons I'm considering spending a year teaching in China (these will most likely be the subject of another post!). A friend of mine is teaching English in Korea at a middle school and hates it, but when I studied abroad in China the English teachers at Tianjin Foreign Studies University loved it. Thus, I would optimally like to find a university job. The catch is, my Mandarin is... bu hao. Actually, it's much closer to non-existent. At the same time, my command of the English language is in all likelihood far and above that of most applicants. I would also like to think that my resume would stand out. Which brings me to my question. In the forum's collective experience, would the following credentials enable me to land a university gig despite my lack of Mandarin?

- Native American English speaker

- Bachelors of Science in Political Science/International Affairs from an accredited US university, 3.96 GPA

* this is a reading and comprehension intensive degree

- President's list all semesters (save the single semester which cost me my 4.0)

- Study abroad program in China 2010 summer semester

- Proficient writer with extensive working vocabulary

- Published essayist in a widely used college level English textbook

- Impeccable recommendation from head of English department at prior college

- Recommendations from Chinese English students and other English teachers in China

I also excel at the art of the resume fluff and clean up real nice like for any picture I might include. What do y'all think?