Chinese-Forums

Peking University Chinese Courses

gaoxing

Hi everyone,

I am new to Chinese forums but I've been reading some of the posts and your comments are all really helpful =)

I'm planning to study for 1 year in Beijing and I'm tossing up between Beida and BLCU. I'm leaning towards Beida, but I still had a few questions which I couldn't find the answer to on the other forums about Beida university. Hopefully some of you can help me out??

1) how big are the classes in Beida university? Are the classes so big that you don't have quality time to practice speaking with the teacher?

2) I've read that Beida classes have predominately western students. Is this still the case and if so, have you found that English gets spoken a lot during class? Have you found that to be a hinderance in your ability to learn Chinese?

3) does Beida have programs/clubs which help foreigners interact with local students?

Any other comments that you have generally on the Beida course or your experiences at Beida would also be appreciated.

Thanks heaps in advance.

@gaoxing

Have you been able to find info on the Beida language program, especially in regards to start dates, cost? Can you tell me which link you are using?

I have been able to go as far as the below, but when I click on the link to "Short-term Programs," the link is dead.

http://english.pku.edu.cn/Admission/InternationalStudents/HowtoApply/

http://www.oir.pku.edu.cn/newoir/stuab/doc/2011/en/Shortterm_en.pdf

Last year when I was looking at the program, I found the following (attached file), but I cant seem to find the updated brochure info for this year. I've tried emailing their office, but no response. Anyone have any other ideas / info?

Peking University Brochure 2009EN.pdf