Chinese-Forums

Sun Yat-Sen / Zhongshan University, Guangzhou

syu.edu

Hello,

first of all i would like to get to know some people who study there (if there are any) because i am going to this september.

and then i have got a couple of questions. i hope someone can answer them for me. :)

1. do you have a chinese health insurance or an insurance in your home-country?

2. how much money do you need additionally to room fees, study fees and food / drinking? my friend told me around 200 EUR (259 US$).

3. my friend at sun yat-sen university told me if i turn on the air conditioner every day, i will pay 200 RMB for the electricity, but he did not tell me if this is a months fee, a days fee or a years fee. i tend to a months fee though.

i'd be very happy if you can answer these questions. :) and sorry for my english, but i am not a native speaker. :)

Hello, I studied at Sun Yat-Sen last semester and may be able to help with a few of your questions. Although I was on a scholarship so I didn't have to pay rent etc, but I do still have a lot of friends there I could make some enquiries for you...

Firstly, to answer your questions I would need to know which campus you will be at... I was at the South Campus which I assume you would be going to since I think thats where most of the foreign students end up...

1. I got Travellers Insurance arranged by STA Travel who I bought my flight tickets from (in my home country)

2. Room fees and study fees, I'm not too sure but I can ask someone for you... Food/drink, it's China - very cheap... there is a student cafeteria which has meals for 8RMB, however I only ate there once - eating in restaurants/food joints inside or outside the uni are not much more expensive - sometimes cheaper - and soooo good...