Chinese-Forums

"Toneless final syllable variant"?

aandrew_

• New Members

Hi all!

I started learning Chinese a few weeks ago, and I often come across strong vocabulary sources that only have the characters and the English, not the pinyin. My goal is to be conversational, so I search the characters on Wiktionary, which almost always has the definitions. Occasionally, I'll come across a definition like this (I'll use péngyou as an example):

Mandarin (Standard ChineseBeijing) Pinyin

péngyǒu  →  péngyou (toneless final syllable variant)

It changes the last syllable from the third tone to no tone. Why does this happen? I did some research and couldn't find anything. It happens for a lot of words from what I can tell, and I haven't found a pattern or anything. Can anyone shed some light on this?

Thanks,

Andrew

This is the term Wiktionary uses to refer to 輕聲, also known as neutral tone.

There is no real rule involved, you just have to remember which ones have neutral tones, and which don't. Also keep in mind that many words which are 輕聲 in mainland China are not in Taiwan.

You may also find my blog post about variant pronunciations useful.