Chinese-Forums

Underage marriage possible?

phallune

I heard that men's age for marriage is 22 and for women it is 20.

I'm a 20 year old American man and would like to marry an 18 year old mainland Chinese girl.

We want to get our marriage certificate so that she can apply as my dependent to live with me in Taiwan under my residence visa in Taiwan.

The only way to do this is to marry her, but we are both underage.

I REALLY want her to come live with me in Taiwan, because I am currently studying as an undergraduate in Taiwan and this will keep us together.

Afterwards I want to bring her back to the US to live with me and I can support her for the rest of her life.

Is it possible to circumvent this law? Will they enforce it if we show up at the marital office and try to get a marriage certificate?

I heard that we can get a written letter from our parents with their signed fingerprints to allow us to get married.

Do we have to get a fake ID?

Thank you :)

Oh I forgot about the fiance visa. The thing is that I'm currently living in Taiwan with an ARC for the next 2 years so I heard I need to marry her first so I can let her come to Taiwan to live with me as a dependent. Afterwards I can do the fiance thing.

Good luck with the marriage age restriction - that's written right into the Marriage Law, and I can't see you getting around it without consent from both sets of parents, some sympathetic officials, and a whole lot of hassle. If you move to the mainland today and start working on it you may get somewhere in... ah, two years...

Sorry to be discouraging. Welcome to the site though, and we'll look forward to hearing how you get on. 

Um...

I do not doubt the depth of feelings that the two of you have for each other...

I just want to point out that, in my experience at least, there is a certain maturity gap between an 18 year old western girl and an 18 year old Chinese girl.