Chinese-Forums

The Stigma of Japan

ParkeNYU

I will be traveling to Hong Kong, Macau, Shenzhen, Guangzhou, and possibly Xiamen & Jinmen in about a month, and will stay overseas for about a month. This will be my first time in China. I am a postgraduate student, and seven years ago I lived in Japan for a summer, after having studied the language since 'teen' first appeared in my age. I love the Japanese language, culture, history, food, people, and just about everything (no, I'm not one of those cosplay/anime/manga/gaming otakus, not that there's anything wrong with that). My long-term girlfriend is Chinese, and I am going to visit her family for the first time. Because of this, I wish I had studied a Chinese language instead of Japanese, but I am trying to catch up by rapidly learning as much Mandarin as possible, and some Cantonese too for good measure (most of my Chinese experience is with the language of the Tang-Song period and with Sino-xenic readings).

Anyway, I'm aware that many Chinese and Korean people despise Japan. Should I keep my history with Japan quiet while I am over there? I'm also aware of the atrocities committed by the Japanese during the two Sino-Japanese wars, but from what I understand, Japan has already apologised for these actions on numerous occasions. Must I choose one or the other? I like both Chinese and Japanese culture, and I feel that many Chinese and Korean people are blinded by hate and nationalism.

On a side note, I am directly descended from one of Matthew Perry's close friends who personally helped Emperor Meiji come to power, so my own blood is responsible for a lot of that mess.

• Like 1

"I feel that many Chinese and Korean people are blinded by hate and nationalism."