Chinese-Forums

A Taste of Taiwan Oolong

abcdefg

Thank you for posting this great write-up. I'm always amazed with the amount of workers who work topless in Taiwan's food and drink industry.

I'd just like to point out that it's not the whole of southern Taiwan that's currently affected by dengue fever. It's mostly just in Tainan. However, I don't think there's much Tea production going on down here anyway.

As someone who suffers from a peanut allergy the idea of peanut husk fertilisation has given me cause for thought. Wonder if it makes any impact on the tea?

I doubt it, Shelly. I would think that whatever is taken in by the plant is changed as it helps the plant grow. But, as a used-to-be scientist, I cannot say for 100% sure. They also used ground up and composted bean hulls.

I'd just like to point out that it's not the whole of southern Taiwan that's currently affected by dengue fever. It's mostly just in Tainan.

Right, Milkybar. Seems that this year has been unusually hot and wet. Today's news gave the count as 15,280 documented cases. And it isn't only Taiwan. Thailand and Malaysia have been hard hit as well.

Glad that you both enjoyed the article.

Very interesting!

The south part of Taiwan was in the grip of a Dengue Fever epidemic (13,000 cases since May at last count) so I didn’t go there

I've gotten a bad cold twice this past month but still no dengue in sight. Mosquitoes like me a lot, though. There was a huge outburst last year too, according to the news but I again I was left safe, same for all my friends. I really don't know anyone who got dengue. I don't think it's something that should scare people away from coming to the south, especially if it's only for a few days/weeks but if you think of it as safer...