Chinese-Forums

Mass extraction of sample sentences for chinese words

chinesemadrush

Hi everyone,

I am currently studying chinese using Anki and it's not very helpful to remember the words without understanding how they are used. Hence, I wanted to include sample sentences in my flashcards. Manually extracting them from websites like yellowbridge would be way too time consuming. May I know if any of you have good suggestions?

Thank you!

• Like 1

There is a program called Chinese Text Analyser by @imron that is very good for segmenting text, keeping track of known and unknown words and create wordlists. You are especially interested in sentences though. Another thing that you could do is using sub2srs for creating flashcards based on movie subtitles. If you want to extract sentences from websites, I'm afraid you need to do it manually. There aren't programs specifically made for that I think. There are some general scrapers but for general purpose and you should know how to customize and use them. I'm also interested in suggestions from others. We could make a list of such websites with example sentences and then see if there are any programs for extracting them. If there isn't anything I might consider coding a script for extracting the sentences. I should take into account the different layout of every website, that's why making a list of websites would be useful. I don't call myself a professional programmer, but that's something I could do and there are some other programmers in this forum so it's something that could be done if it doesn't exist yet.

• Like 2

Consider downloading and playing with the popular Anki deck called Chinese Sentences and audio, spoon fed

https://ankiweb.net/shared/info/2003820603