Chinese-Forums

Homemade noodles vs store bought?

wannabechinesecook

• New Members

Hey, recently I've been super interested in Chinese cuisine, particularly noodles.

I was wondering, for maximum authenticity/deliciousness, would it be better to buy all my noodles or make them at home?

Are there particular varieties that are better one way or the other?

What do Chinese families usually do at home (both in America and China)?

Among families, is there a difference between noodle preparation on a daily basis vs during a large gathering/celebration?

If there is a difference in tastiness, is it significant?

Thanks!

• Good question! 1

I've made pulled noodles (as taught to me by a friend from Anhui) and bought a few different types of noodles. To be honest, the ones I made weren't any better than store bought. Dry store-bought noodles are very popular, both in China and abroad.

I'm not an expert on Chinese culture, but I get the feeling like getting them from a restaurant, preferably one that pulls their own, is much more common for festivities than making them at home. Many regions have local noodles (from restaurants) that are regionally famous, and some are primarily breakfast food. There is a kind of noodle called "Longevity Noodles" which are eaten on people's birthdays, but I haven't actually been to a Chinese birthday party that involved them, so it's hard for me to say how common they are.

Maximum deliciousness is to get them from a restaurant that pulls their own (there's at least two restaurants in my city, Minneapolis, that have them, but it's not something you can expect from any old Chinese restaurant). Next best is getting fresh -- not dried, but the kind that come all noodley and in a plastic bag -- noodles from an Asian grocer.

Depends on the type of noodle and how much time you have.