Chinese-Forums

Lazybug: free, open source app for smart subtitles (OCR)

martindbp

nice work. I can especially appreciate the blurring of the hardcoded subs, that's something I have wanted to have on youtube for a while 

I'm a newbie dev and have been playing around with making some language tools for my chinese. I'll have a look and try contributing. first feature that comes to mind is some type of filtered search (e.g by movies)

cheers

On 3/5/2023 at 2:35 AM, malazann said:

nice work. I can especially appreciate the blurring of the hardcoded subs, that's something I have wanted to have on youtube for a while 

Thanks! Yeah the idea is to hide information you don't need for comprehension, since extra information tends to short-circuits your brain. Unfortunately Youtube auto-enables soft subs if they exist nowadays so you have to turn them off manually ? 

I'm a newbie dev and have been playing around with making some language tools for my chinese. I'll have a look and try contributing. first feature that comes to mind is some type of filtered search (e.g by movies)

Sure, help on the front end especially would be very appreciated! It's possible to click the categories to filter and then search but it's not very intuitive. Also thinking movies/tv/other maybe should be different tabs, especially as there may be other content types such as music videos or podcasts. Either way, if you'd like to make a contribution that would indeed be a good place to start. I made a sticky thread in the Discourse forum where we can discuss the details if you'd like.

• Like 3

This looks really useful! My biggest struggle right now is lowering my dependence on subtitles for TV shows, this seems like a good tool for exactly that. Will give this a good try the following days, for now I have a quick question: how can I hide all but the Hanzi row below the video? The peek buttons seem to have no effect (tried Firefox/Chrome), it's either all rows or none.

• Like 1