Chinese-Forums

Chinese learning system of polyglots

Hi everyone,

I went through these forums back and forth..it is an enormous source of information for me and I'd like to thank everyone, who shares their ideas. It is seriously great and saves up a LOT of time searching elswhere.

I have a question:

I started learning chinese and I wanted to know, weather there is someone, who speaks 6 or more languages fluently ( don't ask me, why I chose this number:) and then started learning chinese. the thing is..these people seriously have a system and a system that deffinetly works, which I would love to discuss.

If there is someone like that, please PM me,

I was also trying to set up while back in Bologna an international polyglot society, but as I said, we were looking for people with 6 and more languages. so..if there is anyone out there, please contact me.

My guess is that people who speak six or more languages well are sucessful not so much because they have more advanced study methods than others, I think attitude is more important. I think they are people who are able to get right into speaking a language, not worrying about mistakes, not afraid to ask questions, and who are never at a loss for something to talk about. The kind of people audacious enough to claim to speak six languages fluently. :mrgreen:

I've only met one person who made that claim. He claimed to speak at least four Indian languages, English, and I can't remember what else.

• Like 1

There are a couple comments I would like to make on this subject:

First, be warned when people count out how many languages they "speak". I knew a guy who could speak 6 languages. Heck, I could say I speak 6, as I've learned various levels of Spanish, French, Chinese, German, and Russian (plus English). How many do I speak? I say just one, even though I can get by on basic/intermediate levels on Spanish, French, and Chinese.