Chinese-Forums

Good Chinese music?

OneEye

Any recommendations for music in Mandarin? I tend toward more "out there" styles, like Bjork and Radiohead, but any decent music is fair game. Good pop, rock, even techno as long as it is chill (a la Telepopmusik) and not like Abercrombie & Fitch music (too much of that at work already...I'm a manager there). I'm very open-minded when it comes to music, so just name some favorites. I don't know anyone besides Andy Lau and a few I found on the Top 100 list on yesasia. Any help is appreciated.

Admittedly, most C-pop, to me, is crap.

Let me expound upon this point so that it is a bit more than just an opinion and we all understand why when listening to it it sounds so...crappish.

Two Things

1)Musicality- The majority of current day music (their classical is another story that I find wonderfully involved and developed) is composed of things no more complex than what a 5th grade band student would learn and play. College students in the states (and I think their stuff is bad too) can create better music than the professionals here. They sometimes start to hit on things like a diatonic and nonharmonic usage but they tend not to develop it.

Most songs to do not progress or if they do they do not resolve. The use of inverted and 7ths are few. The different levels of natural progression are there but at random points or they stay on one. It doesn't progress. It lacks depth. Accidentals are used more than anything else but they tend to be used in a way that doesn't add to the sound. They throw them in randomly like a college student that is still getting a feel for the music.