Chinese-Forums

Difference in Mandarin Accents

starryskies

I still remember on the first day I started an official Chinese class in a summer college program my teacher heard me speak and commented on how I don't roll my tongue when pronouncing words. Like for 是 I would say it more along the lines of "si" instead of "shi". When I asked my mom if it was weird she said it was only because I spoke mandarin with a guangzhou accent since my mom's side of the family is all cantonese and I was raised by my mom. The only reason I speak mandarin is so I can talk to my dad (he's FJ). I wanted to know what the differences are for different mandarin accents. Is it really hard to tell? My mom can listen to someone and tell where that person is from but so far I can only distinguish the Beijing accent due to its many "r" sounds.

I'm not an expert on dialects, but generally people from northern China tend to roll their tongues a lot more than southerners. As you said with the pronounciation of the word "是", if someone pronounces it as "si", then he/she is most likely a southerner, usually Guangdong, Fujian and places around there (although it's quite hard to tell nowadays since many people in those provinces can speak the "correct" Mandarin you hear everyday on the news etc). Other differences include the pronunciations for the "ch" (e.g 吃) and "zh" (e.g 知) sounds.

The Shanghai accent is quite obvious to detect, but it's really hard to describe what it sounds like. Beijing and 东北 Mandarin is probably the closest to perfect Mandarin, but some Beijingers and 东北 people tend to exaggerate the "r" sound and roll their tongues a lot. I personally think the 东北 accent sounds the best (without the exaggerated "r" pronounciations).